NAC – Seeds

The performance of Seeds was one of the best theatrical experiences I have had in a while. A co-production between a Montreal and a Toronto theatre company starring Canadian theatre legend Eric Peterson exploring the controversial topic of GMOs (genetically modified organisms). A strong cast, a smartly written script, fascinating and inventive staging and great direction. I vaguely recall the media reports, over a decade ago, about the Saskatchewan farmer taking on corporate giant, Monsanto. Seeds is a theatrical documentary, based on the actual transcripts of the multi-year court battles. It also explores the people involved and the motivations behind … Continue reading NAC – Seeds

Ottawa – A prominent town in my life

Ottawa has become such a prominent town in my professional life. It was the first Canadian town I ever visited. I was on a world wide tour with Netherlands Dance Theatre in 1970 and we performed at the National Arts Centre soon after it opened. Actually, I had “seen” Canada a week or so before, looking at Windsor, Ontario from across the river in Detroit, but Ottawa was the first place I set foot on Canadian soil. I couldn’t have predicted at the time that Canada was going to be my home country seven years later. Memories from my first … Continue reading Ottawa – A prominent town in my life