National Ballet of Canada – Onegin

I surprised myself today, I actually enjoyed a full-length ballet! It had been a couple of decades since the last time I saw John Cranko’s Onegin danced by the National Ballet of Canada. I had forgotten about or simply didn’t recognize Cranko‘s masterful choreography the last time around. He was a great and inventive choreographer, especially in the two pas-de-deux for Tatiana and Onegin. Greta Hodgkinson was brilliant and even managed to get this old cynic choked up. The choreography for the mirror pas-de-deux in the first act and the final one in the third act is truly challenging, but Greta and … Continue reading National Ballet of Canada – Onegin

TSO – Angela Hewitt

Beethoven’s Emperor Concerto with Angela Hewitt, how can you go wrong? One of my favorite compositions, from one of my favorite composers played by one of today’s piano superstars! What a great night of music! Angela Hewitt was terrific, her confidence, her strength, her technical skills, and of course it was a live performance. Sure she is competing with her own perfect recording and yes in the excitement of the climax at the very end she missed a couple of notes, but her physical presence, the energy of the orchestra and the excitement of the capacity audience made up for whatever … Continue reading TSO – Angela Hewitt